• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

How close do you follow specs when bidding a sign package?

Andy D

I spec public projects, but I'm still fairly new at it & learning.
I think some of the other shops that also bids just disregard the specs of approved manufacturers and some of the sign types, example; when they spec a cast aluminum/bronze plaque, I'm pretty sure that was spec'd years ago, because you can put a precision routed plaque and a cast plaque next to each other and would be hard pressed to tell the difference... & the precision routed plaque is around 25% less.
Another example; I have an ADA sign vendor that can match any of the other "big boys" ADA signs, but they're quicker, cheaper & much better customer service.
So... Anyone else bid public projects?
How close do you follow these outdated specs?

Johnny Best

Well I would get the cast plaque instead of the routed one, but the ADA stuff, I'm with you on that. Just like the 3M 7225 cast. How would they know it was 3M and not Oracal or Arlon unless they see the liner? If they specify braille dots (spheres, rasters) then you can't give them photopolymer braille dots. California is real picky how the tops of the braille dots have to be to a certain roundness. So you have to know your products and suppliers.

Andy D

Well I would get the cast plaque instead of the routed one,

Why you would get the cast plaque instead of the routed one if they look almost identical? I could be wrong about this, but isn't cast metals more prone to crack? I have tried to contact the engineer/architect to use substitutions but they never reply... If I can provide a better product for less money, why not?

ikarasu