• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

how do you do create this outline?

expresssign

ok. how do you create additional outlines with fill in either illustrator or coreldraw?

i got the font with the fade down, the first outline (in this case the white) but i cant figure out how to add the third outline?????

im new to design if you cant tell......

Attachments

• untitled-2.gif
    untitled-2.gif
    4.7 KB · Views: 293

ChiknNutz

Depending on what you used to create it - either an outline or a contour - you have to separate the outline/contour from the text. After doing so, you'll create a second black outline. I like to use the outline tool cuz it's quicker, but it usually gives me poor results when it is separated from the text.

expresssign

somewhat

well, heres whats happening in illustrator, as seen below. my letters are overlapping each other, which i dont want. im also having problems outlining in illustrator with it making the stroke/thickness of my letters smaller if i increase the stroke of the outline. i want the outline to start on the outside of the letter and move outward, and i want the third outline to be in as in the graphic in my first post, very back.

now, in corel, i cant figure out how to add a second outline. i know in corel you can choose behind fill for your first outline that way it doesnt overlap, nor does it make the stroke of your letters any smaller. i like this, but how would i add a second outline? stumped on that one.....

thanks

Attachments

• untitled-1.gif
    untitled-1.gif
    10.2 KB · Views: 245

Fred Weiss

Merchant Member
In Illustrator:

1. Enter text - default color, no stroke, 72 PT.
2. Set spacing for +25
3. Select All (Control+A), convert text to outlines (Control+Shift+O)
4. Set gradient fill.