Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How Low Do You Let Your Inks Get?

Discussion in 'Digital Printing' started by SCDesign, Sep 24, 2020.

1. SCDesign

SCDesign New Member

Aug 11, 2020
    Wisconsin
    Hey all. I've been wondering how far I can push my ink cartridges. I'm using HP Latex 310, and the cartridges are 775 ml. I was told by my sales rep to replace inks as soon as the machine says they're low, which usually happens around 100ml. This seems kind of insane to replace such a huge cartridge with 1/8 of the product left in it. Then again, I'm not an expert, and I don't want to end up ruining printheads or getting air in the lines. Does anyone else using HP Latex have advice? How low do you let your inks get before replacing them?

2. iPrintStuff

iPrintStuff Prints stuff

Sep 3, 2018
    United Kingdom
    I know pretty much every ink on the market generally has more than stated on the packet, so you can run them to “0” and they still have some left, for the specific reason of not letting air in the lines etc.

I don’t have a HP but to me, leaving 1/8 of the ink in every cartridge seems a bit crazy! I’d definitely leave that in a lot longer.

• Like Like x 1
  3. StarSign

StarSign Active Member

Sep 20, 2011
    Southern Utah
    It's more about how quick you can get new ink vs pushing it to the limit. On one of our printers I always have 1 of everything on hand, on my flatbed we usually reorder when the bags are half full.

• Like Like x 1
  4. iPrintStuff

iPrintStuff Prints stuff

Sep 3, 2018
    United Kingdom
    For our Colorado I always keep approx 2 days worth of full printing - and we get inks in next day, the two days is just a precaution.