• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

How to correctly maintain UV printer?

Bappy

Hello

I've recently purchased my first UV printer. I've never used a UV printer before but understand a high level of maintenance is required to avoid clogs. Before I setup my printer up for first use, I want to be sure I know the correct maintenance procedures, but various online articles and videos I've come across are often conflicting.

For example some maintenance videos show the user cleaning the whole printhead surface using lint free swab or cloth, where as others advise you should never touch the printhead surface. If anyone could give a guide to correct maintenance or point me in the right direction, this would be much appreciated thank you.

Also, I desperately need to know how to correctly store the printer when it will not be in use sometimes for between 3-4 weeks? As yet I've not come across any guides for this.

Thank you

Andy D

Every printer is different, with different print heads and different maintenance needs.
What brand and model is it? Did it not come with on-site training?

Bappy

I understand, so just looking for general guidance, in particular if it is ok to clean the printhead surface directly or not, and how to store UV printer for when not in use for 3-4 weeks? It's a Chinese import with XP600 printhead.

Solventinkjet

DIY Printer Fixing Guide
I don't have experience with that head but will tell you that, for example Epson head surfaces are made with Teflon and have fairly sensitive nozzles and they recommend not touching the nozzle surface. A Ricoh head surface is made out of aluminum and they do recommend cleaning the surface but not swiping only dabbing. So it depends on the makeup of the head.