• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

How to laminate using backing paper

JPR-5690

Im new with laminators so pardon my ignorance.

Just got a new 65 RS heat assist laminator and I can't for the life of me figure out how to load a roll of kraft paper to use as backing for laminating small prints. The attached video shows what Im trying to do, although they're using some white backing paper in the video and I'm just trying to use a roll of kraft paper.

The video shows the backing paper being loaded underneath of the loading table...could I just run it from the spool, under the idle roller, and then back up over the loading table?

Also would I turn the heater on before or after threading the laminate?

help :/

myront

CorelDRAW is best
ok, the laminate comes on a roll with a paper liner. When laminating you have to put an empty cardboard tube on as your "takeup" reel. Pull the laminate and paper backer thru and tape it paper side down to the takeup tube. Roll it a bit and pull away the leading edge of the plastic laminate and....

btw most laminate is cold pressed on, not heated. We only use heat for encapsulating.

bannertime

ok, the laminate comes on a roll with a paper liner. When laminating you have to put an empty cardboard tube on as your "takeup" reel. Pull the laminate and paper backer thru and tape it paper side down to the takeup tube. Roll it a bit and pull away the leading edge of the plastic laminate and....

btw most laminate is cold pressed on, not heated. We only use heat for encapsulating.

I think you missed the whole point of OP's post.

Just load up the kraft paper as if you were going to laminate it. Then you can laminate smaller rolls as it's feeding through. Or use a sled for really small sheets.

signgal605