• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

How would you go about redoing this sign?

Chiproller

Hi guys, I have been mostly a large format printing house and have stayed away from the sign market but I have a client who asked for our help in completely redoing their backlit sign (see attached). I have no experience here, but could really use the additional work. It looks like the sign was originally done with cut vinyl applied directly onto what looks to me to be some sort of plexiglass insert and has been on there for 4 to 5 years.

In your experience, how would you go about tackling this job?

1. Would you charge a per hour fee to remove the vinyl off the plexiglass, or is it smarter just to buy a new plexiglass insert to start with? If so, who would you use to buy the plexiglass? What do you suggest is fair (for the customer and ME) to charge per hour, if I remove it myself? What do you recommend?

2. Would you use cut vinyl for the new sign? If not, what media would you suggest to use if I print it digitally on my printer (preferred by me)?

Thanks in advance for any help you may be able to provide. Chip

Attachments

• photo.jpg
    photo.jpg
    385.9 KB · Views: 95

J Hill Designs

New material - Lexan SG (sign white) - printed would be fine - 2 prints - 1st on clear, 2nd overlayed on first, printed on translucent white

GypsyGraphics

LOVE that name!

when you reprint or cut, check that right upper edge of the cropped circle background... that flat edge is bugging me... i can't imagine that's right.

Pat Whatley

New material, definitely.