• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Hp 5500ps

mjarmentasr

I'm looking into buying a used HP 5500PS. As this is an Aqueous based printer and I will be looking to make outdoor real estate signs made from 6mm Coroplast with adhesive backed vinyl, my question is: Is there a method or a modified vinyl that I can use that will give me something close to the weathering a sovent based printer would give me? I know I should be using a solvent or alcohol based ink, but solvet printers are so expensive and Im just getting started. The 5500 is available for $700 with about $600 of ink. As long as the test prints look good, I think it might be worth the investment of buying this unit. But Can I print on adhesive backed vinyl? And if so will it last? Is there a protective coating I can apply to the vinyl once its printed if necessary?

Any Advice would be appreciated.

Mike in So Cal

Robert Boyd

I used a HP5500 UV for short term outdoor before we had a solvent printer. We used thermal laminate. We did have a few premature failures but it would hold up for about a year. I am sure other people had better or worse results. This was a UV printer (pigmented HP ink as opposed to Dye HP ink) I am sure that cold laminate would do better, There are adhesive back materials available. Check to see if the printer available is UV. Don't confuse the HP5500UV with a true UV printer, they are not

Tony McD

Also had a 5500 uvps....it was a workhorse.
Tried a lot of vinyls before trying the 3m 8522 and 8519 laminate, and had prints last for several years.
Left the lam about 1/4" over all around to seal the print down.
Only used it on flat surfaces....never tried any curves or compound corners, so any type of wrap may be out.