• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Hp315 or Roland vp540

avogadro

im looking at purchasing a new hp315 of used Roland vp540. What’s everyone’s preference or reasons not to. I’m fairly new to printing and have asked around, one swears by latex for everything and the other the eco solvent . Thank you in advance.

Solventinkjet

DIY Printer Fixing Guide
Solvent based machines were the main type of sign making printers for about a decade and are still about 45% of the market today. The technology that is taking over is the Latex and to some extent, UV inks but that is more in the flatbed market. I almost completely specialize in solvent printers but can see that I will need to move into other types to stay relevant. So even though I don't have any experience with the Latex, it is probably the better choice. Not only that but solvent based inks are just plain bad for you and the environment. Latex can do pretty much everything solvent can but it's down falls tend to be the machines are not built as tuff and tend not to last as long which I think is just planned obsolescence. The heads don't last nearly as long but they are much cheaper as well. A well cared for solvent head will last 3 - 5 years+ where a latex one lasts a few months. If you do the math they actually come fairly close to long term maintenance costs. But the latex takes more of your time having to change the heads so often. At the end of the day, solvent is on it's way out and Latex seems to be the replacement. That being said, Mimaki has come out with roll to roll UV machines and they seem to be choosing that route instead of Latex. Either way, solvent is being phased out for sure which I wouldn't have said 5 years ago.

KaranGrewal