• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

HP5000ps / UV Color questions

HP5000ps

Howdy,

I am new to this printer, My blue's are coming out a consistent purple.

Any thoughts?

I am using Publisher 2007 {I know blame it on that, however I have used it for years with no trouble color wise}

I am printing on LexJet Tough Guard Vinyl.

This is all new to me so any help is appreciated.

Thanks

The simplest (and most useless) answer is because the printer is putting down too much magenta ink in the areas that should be blue, causing the shift into the purple range. The real question is, why is this happening? There are several possible causes.

1) Monitor is not calibrated. What you see on-screen is more purple than you think.
2) RIP being used is laying down too much magenta. This is caused by a variety of factors in the RIP. As I see you are using a hardware RIP built into the printer (the PS in HP Designjet 5000PS), your options are somewhat limited.

One option would be to select a different 'media' type on the control panel of the printer itself. The media selection is calling a specific set of conditions that include default color information built into the printer itself (rendering intent, output profile, ink restrictions etc). By changing the media on the printer's control panel, you change these settings. As this is an on-board RIP, you cannot create new media settings from scratch (although you can change the ICC component of the media). That printer offers medias that are characterized as HP, and non-HP branded medias. Try another media setting and test the results on a reference test print.

Billct2

Try setting up a color chart in your design program then print this on the material,