• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

I can't get the right red

PolarBear

Hi,
I am having trouble getting my Mutoh printer to print a good deep red. I have a cmyk color of 0,99,100,0. The customer has a sample of this supposedly printed on the same vinyl I am using (oracal 3651) and it is a beautiful deep red. When I print to that same color code on my printer, it is a dull, orangish color.
We tried taking a picture of the sample and printing that picture and it comes out the same as the print swatch from the cmyk code.
I am relatively new to using this and having to setup for colors, so I am a bit lost on what to check and what to setup to fix this. So, here's the information I found that seems like it applies.
I have done a good cleaning on the printer.
I am using Flexisign set in cmyk variable dot color mode,Graphics 2 print mode, no color correction set.
This is a mutoh valujet 54 inch printer.

Can anyone direct me to what I need to do to get that good vibrant red? Also, can you give me any ideas on where I can do some reading on what the settings are and how to get good color setups so I can avoid these problems in the future?

Thanks in advance,
Lori

HaroldDesign

Your red may actually more true, but with less ink saturation. That color break is not a deep red. It borders on having an orange hue. What does a gray-scale look like from each printer? My guess is his has a magenta cast, and yours is either true or slightly cyan.

PolarBear

Ok, that has given me some stuff to try.
I thought I had that profile installed, but I downloaded, installed, and reprinted just to make sure. It didn't change the color.