• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

I made a mistake - don't want to do it again - help

SV Signworks

I created and hung a 3m dibond sign - size 3'x8' - From hooks and chains. It has bent up horribly. We'll replace of course. But what is the largest you should go for hanging 3m and or... if going larger - just thicker dibond 6m? or some sort of edging... or NEVER EVER hang dibond? Silver around edge is print not a frame.
Appreciate your help...

Yes... I'm still new at this and my apprenticeship was too short. OBVIOUSLY.
IMG_4268.JPG

Last edited:

2B

I'm surprised this hasn't fallen, guess there is no wind there?
hardware directly into ACM will pull out / tear the ACM material

you need a full-frame, 4-sided, especially for this size.
depending on your available tools and abilities, you can weld or bolt together the frame.
We use metal, it's more as it is readily available for us. Aluminum is also a good frame material

NEVER hang a sign with J hooks, they will "unhook"
you want an enclosed and secured hardware connection point

Take the sign down ASAP!!, before it gets too damaged or hurts someone, make the frame and re-install once correctly done.

Billct2

Hanging signs should be heavy enough that the wind doesn't blow them around too easily. Which also means they need to be solid with heavy fasteners.
For now the wall mount is your best option

Gino

Premium Subscriber