Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I made a mistake - don't want to do it again - help

Discussion in 'General Signmaking Topics' started by SV Signworks, Sep 3, 2019.

1. SV Signworks

SV Signworks Member

Jul 24, 2017
    Kellogg Idaho
    I created and hung a 3m dibond sign - size 3'x8' - From hooks and chains. It has bent up horribly. We'll replace of course. But what is the largest you should go for hanging 3m and or... if going larger - just thicker dibond 6m? or some sort of edging... or NEVER EVER hang dibond? Silver around edge is print not a frame.
    Appreciate your help...

Yes... I'm still new at this and my apprenticeship was too short. OBVIOUSLY. IMG_4268.JPG

Last edited: Sep 3, 2019
    Tags:
  2. 2B

2B Very Active Member

May 5, 2011
    TX
    I'm surprised this hasn't fallen, guess there is no wind there?
    hardware directly into ACM will pull out / tear the ACM material

you need a full-frame, 4-sided, especially for this size.
    depending on your available tools and abilities, you can weld or bolt together the frame.
    We use metal, it's more as it is readily available for us. Aluminum is also a good frame material

NEVER hang a sign with J hooks, they will "unhook"
    you want an enclosed and secured hardware connection point

Take the sign down ASAP!!, before it gets too damaged or hurts someone, make the frame and re-install once correctly done.

• Agree Agree x 3
  3. SV Signworks

SV Signworks Member

Jul 24, 2017
    Kellogg Idaho
    Thank you. Will do this immediately. Sincerely appreciated.

4. Texas_Signmaker

Texas_Signmaker Very Active Signmaker

Oct 21, 2016
    Frisco, TX