• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

I told my therapist about you!

Plum House

Haha, got your attention, didn't I? :ROFLMAO:

Hello Everyone,

I am a self-taught artist wanting to learn how to properly design and paint signs. My interest presently with signs is handmade with hand lettering and some embellishments at times to add dimension.

A few years ago (almost 4 now!), I made a rash of signs to cover the side of my shed. Towards the end of that period, I found Signs101 and tried to implement some of things I read here. I bought Mike Stevens "Mastering Layout", "The colorization of the Atkinson Plates" (oooh, la la, just pure eye candy!) and somewhere along the way picked up "Lettering Design" by Michael Harvey.

I loved making those signs but I found myself very frustrated with my lack of knowledge, the limitations of the software I had at the time and was too afraid to post and ask for help. I looked into expensive vinyl cutters but luckily realized that wasn't going to make my signs awesome. Other than very simple centering of words on a board, I stopped trying, basically giving up. Some of you will be happy to hear, I have never sold a sign. I do give them away as gifts sometimes.