• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Question I Was Just Asked To Make A Wooden Sign. Help?

Wayne2

Okay, so a little background first. I have been into burning wood (pyrography) for a few years and have sold a few of my art pieces. Yesterday I was asked if I could burn a sign for a park.

I have no experience in signs and am worried that what I create will not last in the outdoors. Here's a few questions I have:

1. Will plywood last if it has a proper sealant/finish?
2. Is the type of wood important?
3. Is there any type of tips you have for me?

Thanks very much,

Wayne Smith

rossmosh

1. Plywood is NOT the material you use on a sign like this.
2. Yes the type of wood you use is important.
3. Overbuild. Use the right materials and finishes.

Wayne2

1. Plywood is NOT the material you use on a sign like this.
2. Yes the type of wood you use is important.
3. Overbuild. Use the right materials and finishes.
Thanks Rossmosh, do you have any specific types of wood you would recommend? I was looking at hard maple.

rossmosh

Thanks Rossmosh, do you have any specific types of wood you would recommend? I was looking at hard maple.

Cedar and Redwood are the most popular woods to use in exterior signs. How to finish is always a matter of opinion. No matter what, you need to tell them it will need to be re-finished regularly if you don't want it to gray. I believe 2-3 years is typical. I don't do wood signs so I can't give too much details. All of my signs are out of plastics or foams.

OldPaint

...let me get it right........you want to make a OUTDOOR SIGN, with BURNT IN LETTERS??? ok if that is you end product, real simple.
YOU BEEN BURNING WOOD for a while you say, SOOOOOOOOO whats the best plain wood you can use???? PLYWOOD IS NO OPTION HERE!!!