• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Illustrator color/resolution help

jbennett

I am new to designing in Illustrator. I did a design for a digital print and was very pleased with the results with only a few minor (or what I hope are minor) exceptions. How can I get the orange color in my design to more closely resemble a flourescent orange ( I said more closely, not exact. The yellow loooked great.)? Also I sent the file to the guy that I am going to sub my printing to. It is a very large jpg image and looked good, but at the 72 dpi, it could have stood to have been slightly more clear. Every time I tried to export as 100 dpi file, it says that not enough memory available. Are actual hardware limitations my problem, or is it the program configuration? The computer has 768 MB of Ram and over 200 GB free hard drive space. All help is greatly appreciated. I just need a little help getting started here.

jbennett

Rod

Try either swatch libraries, or printint color charts

jbennett said:
I am new to designing in Illustrator. I did a design for a digital print and was very pleased with the results with only a few minor (or what I hope are minor) exceptions. How can I get the orange color in my design to more closely resemble a flourescent orange ( I said more closely, not exact. The yellow loooked great.)?

• In Illustrator, go Window menu >> Swatch Libraries and see if there is some inspiration there.
  • Alternatively, do a forum search for previous "chart" topics. Some software provide a function to automatically generate custom and preset color charts, or you can obtain standard chart files that you can print. Then just use the printed charts like a lookup table for the hues that your printer can reproduce.

Regards,

Rod

3CGraphics