• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

I'm so new...

Bindii

I come with cling wrap! :Cool 2:

Hi everyone, my name is Sue and I am a photographer (in Australia) and I am currently researching the idea of printing photographic backdrops.

At the risk of coming across as rude by asking questions in my first post I could really do with some advice from the printing gurus on this forum. Obviously I have no idea what I am talking about so please excuse my ignorance if I say something that is totally unrealistic or naive - thats why I am here.

As I said I want to print photographic backdrops... Why? You ask. Well printed backdrops are becoming quite popular in America and Europe and seem to be reasonably easy to purchase there - I've purchased a few myself, but the postage alone costs more than the backdrops which makes them out of the reach for most photographers from my side of the pond to buy.. and well I've searched and searched and cannot find anyone here in Australia making anything like them at all.

The way I see it I have two options.. I could a) Purchase a suitable printer and the necessary materials, get some training on operating it and add backdrop making to my business or b) Hire a printer to print the backdrops so I could concentrate on the marketing and sales side of them.

I guess both have good and bad points.. I assume that operating a printer like the one I would need would not be something I could master overnight(but I'm a fast learner and keen) and if I hired someone obviously my profit margin is going to be a lot lower (but then so are expenses) but whats to stop the printer from marketing the backdrops him or herself cutting me out..?