• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Images don't show up

sign chick

Here's a question that's probably elementary. I've been using only Graphix Advantage - nothing else - for many years and just recently finally got Photoshop. WooHoo! I'm going to be able to do all kinds of crazy things! As soon as I learn how to use it. I've been going through the "help" section and found a couple of tutorials on the 'net but I can't seem to figure out why it is when I convert a file to .ai or .eps in GA and Open or Place it in Photoshop that it doesn't show up. I think that the program thinks it's there, though. What gives?

Eventually I'm sure I'll do most, if not all, designing in Photoshop first then moving it to GA, but for now I'm sticking mostly with GA cuz I know it inside 'n' out.

Thanks!

Fred Weiss

Merchant Member
The AI and EPS export in Graphix Advantage was always okay for vectors but didn't handle other aspects very well. For one thing I recall it liked to place the vectors way off to the northwest of the page when you'd open them in Illustrator. It also was very good at not getting the centers of shapes within shapes correctly preserved as holes.

I never had a lot of success going straight from AI export to bringing the job into Photoshop and always used an intermediate application to insure the correct setup of the file. These issues were pretty much resolved with the release of the new import/export filters from Omega 1.56 and higher versions.

Rick

Certified Enneadecagon Designer
If I remember correcty, I could never diirectly open an .ai or .eps from GA, one quick fiix might be investing in CorelDraw even an older version (I have seen V.9 for 99 bucks), will allow you to transfer it into a .tiff. ootherwise you have to do a screen shot. :(