• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

ink beading off

Stickerjill

I am very very new to digital printing. In fact, I guess I have not actually printed anything yet.
I bought a Epson Stylus Pro 9500 off a friend and moved it across the country. I did not know to "lock" the ink cartridges in place, or whatever its called. I see that now. So, all the ink jiggled thru for 1300 miles, and up the stairs...

I bought new ink cartridges, and tried printing. I have several kinds of vinyl, but I am not sure exactly what kind, put they are supposed to be the printable kind.
They dont seem glossy or anything, but when I print on them, the ink just beads off.
I tried letting it dry, but even the next day, I can rub the ink right off. I even tried printing on the back of the vinyl (the paper backing) and that rubs off. The only thing it hasnt rubbed off of is regular paper.

Is there a different type of ink that is used to print on vinyl? or do I need some special additive for the ink, or what? I am so confused.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Custom_Grafx

im guessing you got the wrong vinyl. ur running pigment inks, where as most of us here run eco sol or solvent inks...

Stickerjill

when I ordered the ink cartridges, it didnt say what type of ink. Which would be better, eco solvent, or solvent? I just want to make band stickers and posters.

Bill Modzel

Your Epson is a very good aqueous ink printer. You cannot load any vinyl into it and expect the ink to work. You cannot put eco or solvent into it without major modification, if at all.