• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Is this a 3M problem or am I just a hack installer?

TheSnowman

I've been putting graphics on vehicles for 15 years now, and never had anything going on like stuff I've had in the last year. I got a call from this customer, 6 months after we installed the vinyl, and it's all blowing apart. I do my best to work stuff into the contours, and I'll be the first to admit, they're never as perfect as I want them to be, and seems like it's mainly when they're covered in transfer tape, because I can't truly see what the vinyl is doing until the graphic is set, but it looks like on stuff that's not even considered a contour it's blowing up.

The common thing is that the ones that are doing this, are from Signs365, and it's the 3M Cast that they sell. I guess I'm just questioning it, because I've installed Avery, and Oracal on big projects and small projects, and never had an issue with either one, and so far, I'm 2 for 2 on the last couple jobs I've subbed out the prints on, and I just did another one last week I'm worried about.

The pictures here all looked great when they left, and I'll even accept some of them as my fault, but I don't understand why the flat ones that just have a tiny little gap between the panels are popping apart.

Attachments

• IMG_9708.jpg
    IMG_9708.jpg
    28.9 KB · Views: 66
  • IMG_9709.jpg
    IMG_9709.jpg
    28.1 KB · Views: 69
  • IMG_9710.jpg
    IMG_9710.jpg
    27.3 KB · Views: 137
  • IMG_9711.jpg
    IMG_9711.jpg
    32.1 KB · Views: 116

Christian @ 2CT Media

That looks like bad install... looks like you spanned the gap and heated it in rather than following the curve.

Also those deep grooves should have been relief cut to prevent tenting.

TheSnowman