• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Just getting started

earthling

Background. I am an engineer with daily working knowledge of CAD/CAM and 3D printers. My wife is a graphic artist and both of us use illustrator, photoshop, etc..

Looking to pick up a vinyl cutter primarily for use in our own business needs and to give the kids another tool for moving images from computer to the physical world. We would also like to do some light production. Both of us are picky with quality/repeatability. (neither of us wants to fight equipment once we learn a workflow).

I have looked at some newer/cheap equipment and some higher end but older equipment (used, good condition).

One option I looked at was a used Summacut D60, I can pick this up for a very reasonable price and it looks to be basically unused.

1. Is the Summacut D60 a decent model to get started with? The new ones I noticed are dark in color, this one seems to be beige/white-ish so I assume its older than 5 years (maybe more).

2. Have any of the cheaper brands gotten to a point where they could be used as I described (reliable, high quality but low production volume).

If you could pick up a used Summacut for $300 or a newer plotter which would you choose?

Thanks

balstestrat

Problem Solver
1) I think it can be up to 10 years old. I wouldn't touch a used one if you want quality/repeatability with ease. Other thing is you might need an older PC with Serial to even use it.

If you think you are going to use it for making money, get a new one. If you want one for kids to play around get the used one.

earthling

1) I think it can be up to 10 years old. I wouldn't touch a used one if you want quality/repeatability with ease. Other thing is you might need an older PC with Serial to even use it.