• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Just purchased Gerber HS-15 Plus. I have no idea how to use it or what software...

csw

Guys,

I have lurked here for a long time. Always wanted a cutter, just couldn't afford one. Well, that changed today......Now, I need some help. To say I am a newbie is an understatent....

Here she is:

and this is what I am attempting to do with her: Sandblast template. The design is 8 1/2" wide and 4" tall:

My question is; since this is a very simple text only design, what software can I get in that will do this for the least expense??

Thank you all very much and I look forward to seeing all the answers and appreciate all the help.

Josh.:thankyou:

Attachments

• $(KGrHqN,!hUE7WtttrclBPDIcN4Yog~~60_12.JPG
    $(KGrHqN,!hUE7WtttrclBPDIcN4Yog~~60_12.JPG
    20.1 KB · Views: 267
  • th_sandblast.jpg
    th_sandblast.jpg
    12.9 KB · Views: 100
Last edited by a moderator:

James Burke

Being a grandpa is more fun than working
I run a Gerber GS 15. They're fairly straight forward and simple to run.

Gerbers utilize an open artitecture which means you can use other vendors' software. At the "top end" you can use SignLab, Flexi...or go for the gusto with Omega. These are the "top 3" and are not cheap, but are highly functional.

Some of the "inexpensive" programs are doable but may tie your hands when it comes to creativity and functionality, especially with stencil cutting. Stencil cutting is a different ball game compared to cutting vinyl, and these programs may be limited in areas of overcut, tangential control, speed, etc...