• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Question Keencut

Chaos Chief

Newbie here. Is a cutter bar worth the investment as a start up? Keencut Simplex or ARC TE? Our table is 5x10. A portable cutter seems flexible, but a table mounted cutter seems awfully convenient. The Simplex appears to cut thicker materials.

DPD

Newbie here. Is a cutter bar worth the investment as a start up? Keencut Simplex or ARC TE? Our table is 5x10. A portable cutter seems flexible, but a table mounted cutter seems awfully convenient. The Simplex appears to cut thicker materials.

It depends on your business. I went without one for years using hand cutting of posters. I always told myself that when the day comes where I have a huge - and I mean huge - amount of posters to cut then I would purchase a cutter. That day came a few years back. When it happened I went on ebay and Craigslist and waddyaknow, right in my backyard someone going out of business. Had the cutter, stand and accessories. Snagged it at a fraction of the cost of a new cutter.

Do I use it often? Not really. I used it for the one job for which I purchased it and it was really handy speeding things up for me. I still cut some things by hand because by the time I set it up to cut I could use a ruler and razor. I do use it sometimes.

If you're just starting out your equipment purchases should reflect 1) the business you are chasing and 2) your need. You can't build it hoping they will come. Hope this helps.

- denis

Humble PM

If I'm lucky, one day I'll be a Eudyptula minor