• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Laminating Issue

DrunknMonk

Hi All I've been doing laminating now for the last 7 or 8 years, but I hate it, i can never get it to perfect, no sure if its a cheap laminator (NeoLam 1650/E) is the problem or cheap materials, or to do with heat or to cold in the factory, I run every job cold, some jobs i laminate on to a board if its not on a roll, and some jobs are say 7/8 m long so just roll them up and feed them by hand, I get a lot of the material with like a wave marks in the material (on the finished job) after say 4/5 mtrs dont know if it is stretching / slipping ?, I see this a lot to (see pict) I've tried more tension and tried less but not sure what it is, it only seam to happen on one side, please can you help. Also do I have the material set right it does go over the the silver bar and not under it ?

thanks Gary

picyttc.jpg

AF

Either the material wasn't webbed correctly or the machine has crowned rollers that are worn.

Z SIGNS

All roll to roll laminators are a PIA.

The vendors who sell the printing machines and laminators are misleading you the uninformed and un educated new-be.

If you are a small shop doing one off prints I think the best laminator is a flatbed like a Rolls Roller.
They pay for themselves in short time.

Imagine perfect lamination each and every time with no set up,no feeding, no waste, no adjusting tension,no changing media,no etc.etc.etc.

I am sure there are vendors out there reading this but I doubt if you will hear a peep from them.

If you are doing miles of print lam at time use a roll to roll laminator.

If you are doing one offs like most people here a flat bed is no brainer.