• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Large Wall Mural

NotADesigner

I'm new to the wide format arena, but jumping in the deep end.

One of our clients is wanting a roughly 40' x 6' wall graphic installed in a hallway, I believe over wallpaper. We have given them some Oracal for texting purposes, but it looks like Phototex is the recommended media for this type of install? I have not worked with Phototex, but I'm trying to find out more information about it at the moment.

Anyways, what would you use, and how would you install it? There is going to be some die-cutting around the edge of the graphic, but the graphic itself is one solid piece.

For what it's worth, we're printing on an Epson S70.

Also, what would you charge for install on this? Based on some other posts I have read here about Phototex, I'm roughly guessing it'll be 4-6 hours if I can practice in our office beforehand and become "competent".

nashvillesigns

Making America great, one sign at a time.
wall graphics

wow. what is the condition of the wallpaper? are you laminating the final print? i would be worried about the weight of the new prints pulling on old wallpaper.
worse, pulling the transfer tape off the cut parts. you are gonna need a low tack tape...
good luck
-mosher

rfulford

The best solution would be to remove the wallpaper, print and install new wallpaper. The better wallpaper pastes crystalize once dry and remove cleanly.

ddarlak

Go Bills!
phototex, no need to remove wall paper. no need to worry about transfer tape, and no need to worry about learning curve.

you can apply with your hands and it takes about 5 minutes to get used to it.

use the opaque version then you don't have to worry about seems/overlap

Jester1167

Premium Subscriber