• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Life changes post coronavirus? Starting a garden?

Andy D

I have to admit, this pandemic has been a kick in the @ss for me, I have
been living on 20 plus acres for about four years now and have been putting
off utilizing it out of pure laziness... But now I'm full throttle into becoming as food self sufficient
as I can, for myself, family & friends.

I used to garden a lot, so I'm not a novice, if I can help anyone who wants to start one, let me know.

I was about to spend a ton of money creating raised gardens, but I heard about "hugelkultur" & plan
to go that route. It's basically very productive beds made using fallen logs, yard clippings, leaves, forest humus & every year they become more productive as everything breaks down.
It's a lot of work on the front end, but you can pretty much create a garden for only the cost of seeds.

It doesn't need to be a raised garden, but I think it's worth the trouble to make it one,
to prevent weeds and make working on it easier... Here are some good videos about it:

I like this site: it has seed packs for 99 cents - non GMO seeds, many heirlooms
https://migardener.com/category/99-seeds-by-category/all-seeds/?instock_products=in

decalman

These days buying and selling is becoming a serious problem.
You won't have any regrets whatsoever utilizing that land, and growing your own provisions.

Spinach, tomatoes , GARLIC , hot peppers , broccoli, etc.

Geneva Olson

Expert Storyteller
20 acres. add a fish pond. Then you can REALLY live off the land. heck with 20 acres, you can get a couple of cows, pigs, chickens. you would be set.

WildWestDesigns

Spinach, tomatoes , GARLIC , hot peppers , broccoli, etc.

Just be aware of the source of the seedstock. Some are GMO.