• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Looking for some setup help

dsimon42

Hi everyone,

I’m new to this forum. I did some browsing and there is a wealth of information here, so I thought I would post my situation and see if anyone had any advice for me.

Recently, I picked up an Anagraph AE-70 plotter and a Windows PC computer with Ana Designart Pro 3.5 software from a friend.

I’ve used this actual setup at my friend’s house in the past with no problems. I’m no expert by any means – just looking to make simple text stickers and graphics that I’ve done before (i.e. for my boat, truck, friends, etc.)

I hooked everything up, including a security key (“dongle” as I’ve seen it called), and started the computer up. When I start the Designart Pro software, a dialog box pops up saying “Check security key”. I click “OK”, the dialog pops up again, and then the program closes. Unfortunately, I do not have the installation disks to try any re-installation activity. Is it the Designart software that needs the security key, or is it the plotter itself that needs the security key, regardless of the software type?

I’m not 100% sure that I have the right data cable. When I got the machine and equipment, it was sitting in storage and not set up. Could this possibly be causing the software not to read the security key? The cable looks to be a DB-25 serial cable. Is that correct? Is there some special type of communications cable that I need?