• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Low Cost Take Up Reels?

player

I have need for a take up reel for my Roland sp540v printer.

Is anyone familiar with this one?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Take-Up-Dev...731?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3a815988b3 1347494127838-628222055.jpeg

I sells for $320 and does not use an eye, but runs continuously with a clutch.

Any other low cost take up reels recommended? I have seem other lower cost units from China that do offer eye type sensors...

Thanks

Gene@mpls

I have been using this homebrew for 3 years I think with nothing but a slip action to maintain the slack. I had plans to build
either a elect eye or mechanical means to turn it off and on but it was not necessary and I moved on. It and the IR heater
are triggered by a motion detector which switches on when the print carriage moves to print and turns off after 5-6 min of
inactivity. I did have to install a second rotisserie motor this summer tho. As an old **** I particularly enjoy the fact that I
don't have to work with the sometimes heavy roll of vinyl on the floor as with most winders.

Attachments

• VP 1.jpg
    VP 1.jpg
    67 KB · Views: 135
  • VP lt.jpg
    VP lt.jpg
    364 KB · Views: 141
  • VP rt.jpg
    VP rt.jpg
    268 KB · Views: 136

Shadowglen

I have a similar one called REEL PRO from Supply 55 works great the one you are looking at looks like the same thing mine was over 500 but still way less than the factory setups.

4R Graphics

I have a Mimaki JV33 which comes with a take up reel.

The take up reel on both my old JV3 and the newer JV33 are both just a slip clutch type no optical eye this is from the factory.