Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Review Mimaki UCJV300-160 vs Mutoh 1682SR

Discussion in 'Digital Printing' started by chrism, Jan 13, 2020.

1. chrism

chrism New Member

Jan 9, 2020
    Kansas
    We are looking at purchasing our first printer for the shop. I have ran a Roland XR-640 in the past so I have some experience with the Eco Solvent inks. I went to printing united to look at some of the new printers that are out. I took a look at the Mimaki UCJV 300 and liked the variety of materials you are able to print on and if you ink it up with the 200 series inks you are able to do wraps. While I was there I also looked at the Mutoh 1682 SR and was pretty impressed with the machine. There are times that we have a quick turn around and that's what has me leaning towards the UCJV. Curious if there is anyone out there that has either machine and could tell me if there is anything I need to watch out for or need to know about.

Tags:
  2. BigfishDM

BigfishDM Merchant Member

Jun 22, 2009
    All Over
    Any reason you are not checking out latex, if you are doing wraps I would stay away from UV. Mutoh machines are good, but its solvent and lots of wasted inks and time cleaning your machine everyday.

3. chrism

chrism New Member

Jan 9, 2020
    Kansas
    I have looked into the latex. I found that service after the warranty period can be very pricy and takes a while to have them come out. I've heard this from multiple HP owners.

4. chrism

chrism New Member

Jan 9, 2020
    Kansas
    I feel wraps may only be a small portion of our business. Mostly decals, banners and window perf.

5. Solventinkjet

Solventinkjet DIY Printer Fixing Guide

Aug 2, 2011