• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Mutoh Printer Error - "no Media" When There Is Media

Alexandra Lewis

Hi guys,
This is my first time using Signs101 and I am kinda in a huge jam.
I have a Mutoh VJ 628 printer, and today 2 error messages came up that I have no idea how to fix.
In my Valuejet Status Monitor it says:
"No Media"
"S/C Card Error No: 56"

I have a new roll of media in the printer (have only printed 20 inches of it), and have tried turning every thing off and on.

I'm at a huge loss, and would really appreciate anyones knowledge on these two matters.
Thanks!!
Alexandra

Solventinkjet

DIY Printer Fixing Guide
No Media: This usually occurs because the sensor that tells the printer if there is media loaded or not gets exposed to light. Normally the vinyl covers the sensor and so it thinks it's loaded. On your machine the sensor should be located on the back or center platen. It will look like an oval hole in the platen. If it's not covered, that's your problem. Load the material so that it always covers that hole. It can also trip the sensor if the media pops up a little and allows light underneath the media and into the sensor. Make sure the media is rolling smoothly from the media holder to the printer. Sometimes the sensor is just too sensitive. I don't have time to go into how to adjust it but a quick fix is to put tape over the sensor. That is simply a field tech tip and Mutoh does not recommend it but many people do it.