• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

My vector dude

Flame

Alright, so got a job that's not great, but would make a good weekend project. Turn 3 guys pics into a caricature looking artwork. Like a vector photo, ya know?

So, never really played with caricatures, this is my first attempt... your thoughts?

Attachments

• the dude.jpg
    the dude.jpg
    26.2 KB · Views: 131

Flame

Well yeah but I know I need to touch stuff up..... just not sure where to start.

Original pic attached. ugh, poor quality.

Appreciate you taking time to check it out Rick.

Attachments

• the real dude.jpg
    the real dude.jpg
    146 KB · Views: 103

TheSellOut

I think you have a good start, but that guy has some big eyes which you might try and emphasize! Could you change the black to a brown? it seems like his hair is brownish.

Steve C.

Hey Flamey, If you keep you past isues of Signcraft...check out an article
by Joe Diaz on converting and image to high contrast illustrations.
July/Aug, 2007.

Rick

Certified Enneadecagon Designer
When I do an illustration like this, I try to lay down a foundation of the person using the image in it's simplest form to catch the essence of the persons face, then build layers on top of that. You got the idea, just started with a poor foundation.

I might use Photoshop, make the image black and white, then use some filters (in this case photocopy) to get the basic form of the persons face... and hopefully that persons character shows through. This person has distinct eyes, nose and mouth features that are not showing through on your illustration. I actually thought your illustration was Lance Armstrong.

If you have not seen this....

http://www.illustrationclass.com/2009/06/20/stylized-portrait-illustration/