• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need help deciding on which machine to choose.

Swarded

Hello, everyone. I'm new to vinyl cutters and have been researching for a while now, but I wanted to make sure to get advice from the professionals in this forum.

I will begin by describing what I am utilizing the machine for, which might help you understand my situation. I am a painter (acrylic) and I create designs on a wood panel, and up until now, I have been taping the panels and using an Xacto knife to cut the designs by hand and weed out the tape. It finally clicked I needed to just get a vinyl cutter to save time in this endeavor.

Detail-wise, it can get pretty small in the areas where I cut. 1/8" in space between the cuts, sometimes smaller (but if I have to adapt to the machine's ability, i will)

Software-wise, I have been a graphic designer for nearly 10 years now and I have massive experience in the software required for CNC work and the such, so if one machine is "harder" than another to use based upon software, that is perfectly fine, detail is all that really matters to me.

These are the machines I am choosing between:

Graphic CE-6000
Mimaki CG-SRIII
Summa Summacut
Roland GS24 CAMM 1

Anyone with experience with these machines, how are they when it comes to high-detail work? Are any better than the others in this regard? Any and all feedback is greatly appreciated!

Bretbyron

Some of these machines do more than it sounds like you need. Optical registration will cost more and be useless unless you have a wide printer.

Get the Roland GS Camm 1 and call it a day. I believe most here will agree. I think they have a three year warranty also.