• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

need help on large outdoor sign

shirtsource

I an going to try and build my first large outdoor lighted sign. I need help on design of the structure and the foundation. I am a very good welder and my partner is a electrician to do the wiring. I need to get a name of a good supplier of outdoor backlit materials and I need some guidence on the best way to build it. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Brian

S

SignTech

it's usually better to just get a ul listed built box ......

shirtsource

We live in the middle of no where so we are not required to have UL approved signs this is going on my land so I dont have to have a license. I have been wanting to do this for some time now. I need to know what size metal to use on the structure and how much fondation. If I cant get the info I will just overkill everything. I can probably save some money If I knew exactly what size stuff I will need.

Thanks,

Brian

Letterbox Mike

You actually technically are required to be UL listed, doesn't matter if you live in the middle of nowhere or if it's going on your property, FYI. And you really need an enginner to figure your footer properly/safely/to code. If you're not worried about an inspecor ever seeing or actually inspecting the sign and are doing this as an experiment, that's one thing, go ahead I guess, but don't try to sell a sign to the general public without going through the proper channels and procedures.

That said, for your first cabinet, I'd just buy a knockdown kit from someone and assembl it yourself. If you want to source the components individually, there alot of sign vendors who sell Signcomp extrusions, sheet aluminum and acrylic, and all of the electrial components you'll need.