• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

New business advice...

plamo

Hi everybody,

I have the opportunity to buy an existing home-based sign business and relocate it to my city. I am not in the sign business myself, I am in metal design / fabrication but I am looking to go into business for myself with something I would enjoy doing. My background is actually in industrial design which I think would help me in the sign industry, as I have no experience in it (other than reading these forums). I really need some advice as to a good way to start out. Basically I see three options:

1) Buy this business which includes everything I would need to get into commercial signage for around $50,000. The main equipment included is a Gerber Dimension 200 router and HS 15+ plotter, along with lots of misc equipment and sign making supplies. It would be unlikely I would keep any existing clientele as the business is currently in another city, so I would basically just be buying his equipment / inventory and starting over. I would also recieve some training from the existing owner.

2) Start my own business with limited equipment (maybe just a plotter?) and learn the business at night while I keep my full-time job.

3) Forget all about it and keep working for the man and regret it later.

Now, obviously #2 is the safe choice, but I worry a little that if I don't go into it full tilt, it might never be more than a hobby (even though it's a scary idea to give up a regular paycheck).