• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

New guy in SoCal

Dr.dirty

Hey guys my name is Scott. Im currently using a Summa D120 with Corel draw x5. I am new to the sign making industry and right now im only making enough money to cover materials.... I look forward to reading and soaking up all the knowledge this place has to offer. Every time I have an issue and google my problem this forum pops up so I figured you were all the "go to guys"

SignosaurusRex

Welcome Aboard Scott. If you are are only making enough $ to cover materials, then you are working for free. Giving away your work. That makes absolutely no sense at all. You are not only hurting yourself, but others as well.... like the rest of us.

Dr.dirty

I have found most of the clients have really wanted alot for very little money. Thats one of the reasons I signed up here is to get advice and guidance. I have been doing alot of vehicle work using Oracal 951 and 100yds of each color adds up fast.

Salmoneye

1. What the customer expects is very nice (for the customer).
2. If you do decide to do an inexpensive job, you should be doing it on a much less expensive material. I don't use any junk but I will do signs on 651 $100 bill or less a roll for 30" x 150'.
3. Just covering expense of material. That might be fine, depending on what you mean. If you are doing 10sf of vinyl lettering and charging $100, that means that with the above mentioned roll I am using 4 lineal feet of material and I now have 96 lineal feet of material capable of producing $2,400. worth of work at the above mentioned prices if efficiently used. That makes sense to me. It might not pay on the first job but it will pay and you are getting ahead.