• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

New Print Business - What Equipment Do You Recommend

hatlesschimp

Hi Friends,

I'm looking seriously at starting a printing business. Currently eyeballing the Mimaki JFX200-2513EX and UCJV300-160.

Im 37yo and live abiut 80kms from Melbourne, Australia. Im tired of working for the man and want to do my own thing now, used to be a mech fitter by trade and used to maintain big industrial carpet printers.

Currently I have a 1390 Co2 Laser Cutter and CNC Router 1313 and been making signs on the laser and CNC and finishing them with Paint, Stain, etc etc. Been operating out of my Garage and doing an ok job but I'm running out of space when making multiple objects at once so looking to move to a small factory that's close to home.

I stumbled onto the UV printers and love what they can do. Was looking at buying from Focus Inc in China a 1311 Flatbed UV printer for 30k. But warmed to the idea of buying Mimaki printers on finance and having local support.
I'm not exactly sure what I want to print or make I just love being creative and want to produce quality items that look great. I love how the flatbed uv printers can layer and add depth & clear gloss to areas as well.
Making stickers on the UCJV300-160 for local companies with texture excites me too. Would love to help other local companies elevate their products to another level. But also the ability to do vinyl for cars also is interesting and I have been asked already twice to do fleets of vehicles for people with just door logos and tailgates.

So one of my main questions would be will I be able to make profit with these two mimaki printers and my other machines in the CNC and Co2 Laser Cutter if I have expenses of $2,500 AUD per week?