• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

New to sign making need some advice..

Jeron

Hey guys/gals.. first post here.. obviously...

But i am a screen printer by trade, and have a vinyl cutter that i use to make one off shirts out of heat press vinyl.

I just did my first vinyl window sign and i sparked my interest in sign making. Then i saw the sand blast mask sold by my vinyl supplier and has me even more curious. So here are my questions and keep in mind i have no knowledge about sign making so spell it out for me as best you could... thanks.

I get the idea about putting sand blast mask on a board and then blasting everything else away...

What woods work best, or I've seen the term "HDU" on this site but not sure what it is... Can i blast HDU???

Also my father has a sand blast cabinet that he uses for automotive purposes... it is filled will glass beads if i'm not mistaken. is this ok for blasting wood signs?? if not what should i use??

Any tips on how to get started would be awesome. I don't plan to do this to make money at the moment just curious and want to play around with it in my spare time for now... Maybe make some custom signs for my shop and what not getting the hang of it...

Thanks again for any info you have for me.

MikePro

high-density urethane foamboard rocks. handcarved, sandblasted, routed ....it does it all.
varying levels of densities are available, as well as thickness, but you can always bond layers together with gorilla glue to make thicker objects.
google and youtube can be your friend, merchant suppliers list here on the forums, or check for some plastic supply companies in your area and they'll most likely have odds & ends for sale, but get your hands on some and start playing.

:Welcome:2:signs101:

w2csa