• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help NEW to signmaking, new (OLDDDD) printer/plotter, cant get anywhere, please help!

dtsowosso

Guys, I am completely new to this and I am completely lost.

I picked up a ColorCamm PC-600 for dirt cheap. Yes, I know its ancient. Yes, I know. I know. But for the price, its worth a small struggle of getting it going.

Ok.. so unless theres a trick that I am unaware of, I know these drivers only work on windows xp.

SO, my first step was making an WinXP VM in Virtualbox. Got that working, installed the drivers on LPT1.

FINALLY got Flexi and Production Manager installed, added the device in production manager, sent test print and I get the 'cant open port' message. Here is where I note that the VM host is Windows 10, and the printer is connected using a parallel to usb cable.

Double checking, virtualbox sees the USB cable as 'belkin components', and is sharing the usb device to the VM.

What have I overlooked? Please? Anyone?

WildWestDesigns

Emulated parallel ports trying to do a USB passthrough don't tend to work in VMs. At best it will be 50/50 in VBox. Having to make sure that you have drivers that work in the VM as well. So you'll need XP drivers, not Win 10 to help your odds, still no promises, but it does help.

I'm a huge fan of VMs, I run four of them (one VM within another VM (no Win 98 support in Vbox, so have to do it that way for that VM)), but it does come with it's limitations.

Gino

Premium Subscriber
According to your profile, you have 2 other functional machines. Why waste time and money on technology that's about 25 years old ??

• Agree
Reactions: Bly

creativevinyl

I used to have a PC600 resin/ribbon printer.
It was quite a good little machine that print and cut.