• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

New to Signs101

goldbuckle

Hello,
I am new to Signs101 and wanted to say hello. I own and manage a commercial printing company in central Georgia. We print in house digital & offset work from 1 to full color and we also have distributed signage for about 10 years (banners, corplast, magnetic signs, etc.). I am considering doing at least some of this in house now and I am looking for advise/help as we grow.

I have an Epson 7600 Ultra Chrome (aqueous/pigment) 24" wide format printer which we use to generate CMYK color proofs for the presses. I know of some shops who print their full color magnets on adhesive backed vinyl and then apply it to the magnetic substrate.

So I want to print the (car/truck) magnets on the Epson 7600. What I want to know is about the Magnum Magnetics material, particularly the 24"x50' 30mil roll states on their website it is for solvent printers...will it not work with pigment/aqueous ink? I would much rather print directly on the magnet if it will work, or would I be better to print on the adhesive backed vinyl and apply that to the magnetic base?

Also I have a laminator to either laminate the finished magnets or just the adhesive vinyl...but is laminating really necessary?

And last but not least what about car magnets round corners vs. square corners? As long as I am using 30 mill does the corners really matter?

Anyway, I have said a lot and hope I get some good response...

PS If anyone needs any offset printing or digital printing done I will be glad to help to return the favor for helping me get started with doing signage in house...

Thanks,
John

Fred Weiss

Merchant Member
Hello,