• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

new to the industry

icm714

hey guys this is my first post and i need some help im a college student that is looking to get a plotter to make decals and stickers for friends and there bands i won a plotter on ebay buyt havent purchased it yet i need feedback and see if anyone has used one. its a USCutter 25" Refine Vinyl Sign Cuttter Plotter w/ Stand i got for 300 bucks total i know its probaly not the best but feed back would be nice plus what is the best vinyl to use for windows and for trailers

chopper

you will see when you look through the posts on "Chinese cutters"
that they have issues I will not get into bashing them but if you read the posts you will get the drift, as far as the vinyl goes there are several kinds and many brands, the 3 basic kinds are;

1, cast which is the most durable and will hold up the best and conform to rivets and ribs etc, better than the other types..(costs the most)dosent shrink or shrinks very little less tenting on rivets etc.

2, calendered which is a medium grade material that will last 3-5 years out doors depending on the brand and conditions that it is exposed to uv, etc..
will not conform to rivets as well tends to shrink and cause tenting over rivets etc, in a short period of time. (cheaper)

3, mylar films like chrome will not conform to rivets and curves and will last 3 -5 years (if lucky) depending on conditions uv etc,

as far as the brands go there is Oracal, 3M, Arlon, Avery, and a few other that I cant think of right now, most of the brands are ok you need to find a local supplier and see what he stocks and try the difent brands to see what you like, how they cut, weed, apply, good luck //chopper

iSign