• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Newb in Cali...Very Newb

Jebb209

Alrighty well I'm finally doing it... Getting into vinyl and other media! I'm stoked to join this forum and hope to learn from all of you. I'm very new to all of this... but basically I would like to start with some decals and vinyl wrap for my subaru club. After that it's endless. Any pointers?

Money is an object, but I don't mind spending a little more for quality. I don't quite know the difference between a plotter/cutter/laminator and whatnot so please be specific. Basically all I know is I'm willing to do what it takes to learn this trade and do it right. I have zero experience but am very intuitive.

I am very experienced in forums and have done some research on a few things. But please if anyone has a few minutes to answer a couple (probably simple to you) questions...

Any rave reviews on a afforable machine for my needs? (Hopefully not 10k)

Best media and sizes to use for vehicles

Best distributor for all the goodies

Any other web pages to learn vinyl and the specifics.

ANY tips/pointers for my task.

Thanks for reading!

Justin

Poconopete

Welcome from PA.
Go to school & learn design then get a job in the industry to gain experience and capitol then go out on your own in 10 years.

S

Sign-Man Signs

Yup. Sub yourself out to a busy shop. Learn on their dollar. Even as a intern, you'll learn alot.

Craig Sjoquist

Welcome to a outstading forum and people

when I started in signs.... I worked for for a guy who thought he was a sign painter ... but I realized I liked it.... went on my own cause he gave up.... then I realized after several months really didn't know what what I was doing ..... so went looking for a SCHOOL .