• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Newbie!!!

gr8ang

Hello,

I am BRAND new to this.. I am in the process of trying to buy a vinyl cutter. Leaning towards the master pro by desay. Now my question is, what type of vinyl to buy and where do i buy this? I am wanting to make insiprational quote signs that are hung up around the house.. and is there a certain type of wood recommended for vinyl to stick on?

R08

Welcome and good luck.

Word of caution: Read a few posts on this forum before asking too many questions.

Take it slow and you'll be fine.

As long as the wood is sealed vinyl will stick to it but cutting vinyl for this type of work is really not your best bet. If you are selling many of one type, screenprinting is the way to go.

Fred Weiss

Merchant Member
I would recommend that you run, don't walk, to you nearest sign supply distributor for a demonstration, training and installation of the hardware and software that you will need. Buying a Chinese plotter over the internet is an ill advised exercise in frustration and wasted time.

I would next recommend that you browse around in the Hardware and Software forums here for similar and related information.

As to the type of vinyl, again I recommend what your local sign supply house stocks. Oracal 651 would be a good starting point.

As to the finish of the wood, it should be a sealed surface of any kind of finish from shellac to enamel or lacquer or polyurethane. Avoid latex or rub on oil stains.

gr8ang