• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

No laminator

Bluedog

I am new to digital printing and was researching printers and laminators, so I have a few questions . I just watched the big squeegee videos on you tube, so being that I have budget constraints am I right in thinking I don't need a laminator right off the bat? This can be done with the big squeegee? Does all lamination film have backing paper? I don't plan on anything big at this time and was considering the VersaStudio BN 20! Last one, am i correct in saying u can laminate with cast laminate over calendered vinyl?
Thanks for any help!

Gino

Premium Subscriber
It kinda depends on what you need laminated. For onesies and twosies, the Big Squeegee will work just fine, but if you do a partial wrap or some 4' x 8's it could get old real quick. If funds are lacking, be careful and try to make that your next purchase, even if it's a used one.

Signsforwhile

I'm in a minority here but our Daige Quickmount has been producing money for us for over 5 years. It's seen it's share of wear, and it did take a VERY long time to figure out it's quirks. It is an extremely simple machine that works well enough. I think it was thrown together with our Mutoh package as incentive to buy. I think a new one can be picked up for $2k....

Bluedog

My thoughts are to trim off the extra lamination film and reload to contour cut? Is this my best solution to small outdoor signage ? I have been doing cut vinyl for years, but this digital printing is all new to me! I have learned a lot just reading on here, Thank you everyone !

Patentagosse