• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Onyx color management help

wfarmer

I am very new to this so let me apologize in advance if I ask any dumb questions or anything that's already been discussed. I have a hp l25500 and am using Onyx postershop RIP software. The problem I am having is that many of the colors print dull. I know that cmyk colors aren't necessarily bright but looking at other people printing the same colors I am looking to get I know its possible. I am primarily doing motocross graphics so I have to be able to match the colors with the color of the plastics which are very bright. The main colors I'm having problems with are green and orange which ironically are the jobs I will be doing the most. The colors just look murky and it almost seems like its printing all the colors other than what I actually need. If I look very close to the colors I can see that the ink isn't totally solid on the green and orange, almost like its fuzzy in the colors. I have printed test samples of every cmyk color that is even close to what I am looking for and can't seem to find what I need. I know that most likely I need to do a recalibration and work on ink limits etc. However I don't have a calibration device and I'm not sure what exactly I would need or even what to change to make the colors more vibrant. I have been banging my head against the wall trying to figure this out so any advice is greatly appreciated.

I will attach a photo to show what I am referring to.
attachment.php

Attachments

• IMG_2761 (1).JPG
    IMG_2761 (1).JPG
    34.8 KB · Views: 340

Bly

You won't be able to match really hot orange and green plastic pigments.
The best you can do is try some of the profiles that ship with onyx and try various settings.