• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Onyx Production House - getting started question

CES020

I'm new to printing, but have been sending printing out for a while. Finally broke down and got a printer as well as Onyx Production House v11. I know there's a lot to learn (more than I can learn in a lifetime, probably), but I'd like some input from you guys with experience.

I'm trying to do something really simple, figure out what settings need to be in Illustrator, best I can tell it's two areas, one is the document color mode and the other is under edit, color settings. That's where the working space and color management policies are located. What's the best setup for all those to create something that's going to make Onyx the happiest.

Also, when saving files from Illustrator, is it best to save them as a PDF, or should I rasterize them prior to saving them, and if so, rasterize them, then save to PDF? Which version PDF, if PDF is what I should be doing.

It's all new to me and instead of looking at printing from the outside in, I'm now looking from the inside out, knowing that I have a lot to learn, but I don't want to start with bad habits and end up finding that out after creating a ton of files. I'd like to learn the best practice(s) and try and head down that path from the beginning.

Thanks so much for the help, I appreciate any help at this point. I don't find much help on the ONYX site or documentation and hours searching online haven't gotten me very far either.

Bly

I use the default colour setup in Illustrator - SWOP, srgb - and work in CMYK and save as native Illy PDF.
Then setup your Onyx quicksets to use the same profiles for your input iccs.

CES020