• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Plotter & Laminator Recomendations

Pete Moss

Good afternoon my fellow sign enthusiasts,

We are going to be in the market for a plotter, possibly a printer and a laminator. We have a Oce 250 GT at the moment. First, I am wondering if we can use it to print everything prior to cut. I cannot think of reason why not, however I am new to flatbeds. I've used HP, Mimaki, Cannon and Roland in the past for roll fed media. I suppose I prefer Rolland for their two-in-one capabilities. All of the printers worked well enough.

My question is can I continue to use the Oce for all jobs?

If not what printer do you recommend?

What laminator do you recommend?
It seems I have not yet worked with any laminators that were not persnickety, to say the least.

Lastly, what is your recommendation for plotters?

Thanks a ton for your time and wisdom.

Pete Moss

I suppose the only constraint of using the Oce for all prints would be the size limitations, no more tan 4' x 8' at a time, which we don't run into often. I've been told that this machine could be roll fed though and wonder if there is capability for a take up reel or advancing media.

jtinker

Owner
For printers I would recommend anything from Roland. I know, people swear by whatever machine they use but our roland is a workhorse. We have ran this thing almost nonstop for a year straight and every day I come in it works like a dream. I know when I need a job in a rush I dont have to worry about errors or faulty parts or anything clogging up my workflow.

Roland has a series of cutters as well. I haven't gotten a chance to use them but if they are anything like the printers then its going to be quality with great dealer support.