• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Pre-mask questions - long graphics

grabutty

Hi there,

I am not necessarily new to the business, but this feels like a newbie kind of question...

I have been doing vehicle graphics for 4 years, but always (by some stroke of luck) they have been relatively small graphics in size (no more than 4' maybe). But now, I am prepping for a job where I need to mask and install pieces that are 10' long by 7"... How in the world can I mask this? My work table is 6' long. I am not soooo worried about install, though I am debating wet or dry, but the masking is getting my brain all tired.

Thanks for any sage advice you can offer.

All the best,
G

J Hill Designs

do you have an elevated mask holder that the graphic can slide underneath? if so, put the 10' graphic near the edge of your table, so the remaining 4' runs off the table under your mask holder -- mask first 4-5 ft (keep mask attached to roll) -- slide mask back until the leading edge is now maskable, mask remaining (all 1 piece of mask)

hope that is in any way decipherable

:thumb:

SIGNTIME

do you have a laminator if so use that but it doesnt sound like you do... you can take a 10" roll of masking and start at one end of the graphic and go to the other end and when you need to slide more of the graphic on your table just place the roll on your graphic where it has already been masked or you can mask it in sections but over the seems you need to be careful and use firm pressure when applying

2B

Hi there,

I am not necessarily new to the business, but this feels like a newbie kind of question...