• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Print white on clear vinyl

m303625

Hi I have been anon browsing this forum for years and have finally joined
the info discussed here has proven to be invaluable to me.
I have been maintaining my sp300 and running third party inks for over 2 yrs now!
I still run colorrip as my machine predates the release of versaworks
I can set to print spot colors in other words use only one print head color,
so this got me thinking about printing white! now white roland ink is available!
What I am proposing is having a small 30ml container with white ink attached to the head carriage with tubing to a large damper on the black head, just remove K damper, flush the head and fit white damper (after vigorous shaking)
set for k spot color and print away, my only concern at this point of planning is with the larger particles for the white pigment is that going to be a problem with blockages in the head, manifold or damper??
guess what I really want to know is " on the new machines designed for white or metallic ink are they using dx4 heads or something with larger nozzles?"
any thoughts people?

Colin

I'm no expert on this, but I think that the new SP300i has the old heads. You need the VS model to run the white & metallic inks. I think they use a "5" series head.

artbot

shouldn't be an issue. in fact the jets have been getting smaller over time so there is less a chance of clogging. i've been wanting to do just the thing that you are discussing with my jv3 160sp. yes, it has two white channels. but i'd rather run double cmyk, then when i want alter the black line to run double white at double speed. and the dx4 is fine for white.