• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Printing Gradients .ai

Supergirl

Hi,

I am new to printing (well, i got 2 months experience and a nice wall of shame, but it's going pretty good), but i've been cutting vinyl for a couple of years.

I use Illustrator for most of my work (stickers, decals, etc) and use PhotoPrint10 to rip and send to my Mutoh 1324.

I can not figure out the gradients and transparency.

Sometimes, it's enough if i convert the gradient to bitmap and print, but sometimes it just doesn't look good.

what i get is white big squares in the middle of gradient. Gradient is used mostly to fill letters.

I've tried flattening at high res. Converting to bitmap. Printing from Illustrator. Saving as pdf. Using "super" gradient handling in photoprint.

I am out of ideas and i'm sure it's something i'm missing.

I thought i've seen this with transparency before, and banding with gradients.

I would really appreciate your help!

t.

SightLine

║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█
As much as I dislike CMYK color for its limited gamut I've found that native Illustrator gradients for us print best when all colors in the gradient are CMYK with no transparency to any of the colors. Spot colors in gradients will almost always get weird. Pretty much have to select the gradient, then in the gradient panel select each color and make sure it is a CMYK value. I also make sure the document raster effect settings for the file (in Illustrator) are at 300dpi.

On very complex ones or ones that just cannot easy be changed I just rasterize (open) the Illustrator file in Photoshop and save it as a 150 to 250 dpi flattened Adobe RGB Profile tiff image. Can end up with a pretty huge file but the results are pretty much always excellent.

Supergirl