• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Printing like Summa

WestcoastSigns

Warning: total newbie here.

I've been looking at the thermal vs inkjet through the threads. For the decal biz I would be doing I thought a versacamm would work best as I loved the printer/cut feature but decals don't stand up to solvents. Colours were fading. Don't want the extra work of laminating. The thermal prints that the sales person did off the Edge held up but didn't like the extra work of cutting and changing out each foil.

Then I find out about the Summa in this forum and its thermal AND cutting. Sounds like what I need as I don't have to change out the foils for each colour like the edge. Some decals are finer artwork so will have to test that out.

Is there any other machines like the Summa in thermal that I should check out? Whenever thermal printing is discussed,it's always Edge or Summa mentioned.

Thanks in advance.

Fred Weiss

Merchant Member
Among thermal printers, Gerber and Summa are pretty much it.

There are pros and cons to each approach. The Summa has size and a built in cutter (not necessarily a benefit). The Gerber has a well developed aftermarket offering an overwhelmingly greater choice of materials at much better prices. The Gerber has a substantially greater user base and distribution network so help and support is much more readily available.