• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Printing on canvas advice

Leadbelly

I have a Roland RF640 and have been asked many times if I can print photos onto canvas. I have always backed away from printing canvas as I believe the guys that do in most cases have to do a bit of work in photoshop to the customers photos, which in a lot of cases the customer is unaware, but just receives a good canvas back. I have no experience with photoshop whatsoever.

Getting a canvas media and profile is straight forward enough but dose the RF640 lend it's self good enough to do this kind of printing and in true terms will I have to learn how to tweak the images, and are there any other factors I have missed out?

ams

I have a VP-540i which is about 8 years old and it's a standard 4 color CMYK. I print on canvas and it turns out amazing. Ever heard of shutterfly? My wife is addicted to that website, however she won't buy canvas there anymore because my quality is much better. I get very clear images. It's even better with an over print.

Of course it depends on the type of canvas you use. Some are cheap and soak up the ink while others produce amazing results.

oksigns

Roland has a solvent canvas material I never bothered to try, but my thinking is, if I were to delve in to canvas prints, I better know how to stretch a frame and mount it properly. Processing artwork is only a small part of it, and I don't want to devote my time and energy in to that. So it is worth considering the whole gamut of skills if you are considering canvas printing, cause, from my experience, a lot of your off the street business would want a one stop shop type of solution.

Leadbelly