• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Printing on Oracal 351 Chrome

iceon

Has anyone tried to print on Oracal 351 chrome with a Latex printer? If so what ICC worked best for you?
Thanks

dasigndr

Premium Subscriber
I have printed on other mirror chrome vinyls with my latex printers and it does not work well. The high heat tarnishes (makes the mirror chrome all dull and fuzzy). I have heard there are brands developed for this purpose but have not tried them yet.
Following!!

Glavin_ID

I am no expert on this but I was just talking about it with someone in the industry recently and they were telling me that most chrome materials can be only be digitally printed on UV machines. We have always screen printed chrome materials.

Christian @ 2CT Media

We have printed on chrome and other "polished" silvers. No issues at all.

You just need to adjust your settings to be correct and make sure your ink load and heat settings are correct for the media.

Fresh Signs

I print on clear then laminate to chrome media
Depending on what the use is I then may even add a laminate to the printed clear
This way also stops the actual chrome from scratching aswell
Hope that helps

eahicks

Magna Cum Laude - School of Hard Knocks
I print on clear then laminate to chrome media
Depending on what the use is I then may even add a laminate to the printed clear
This way also stops the actual chrome from scratching aswell
Hope that helps
This. And many times I do this same process for print on reflective. Most reflective vinyls don't seem to run well on the printer, for me.

eahicks

Magna Cum Laude - School of Hard Knocks
We have printed on chrome and other "polished" silvers. No issues at all.